Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Portal

Information sources and support for nurses

Choose the type of information to suit your need.

 

Textbooks - for general and introductory information.

The library has both physical books and ebooks.

Physical textbooks are held in the library on the ground floor of RMH. They can be searched for and reserved via the library catalogue.

Ebooks are available via the library catalogue.

Books@Ovid allows searching of leading medical, nursing and pharmacy texts.

  • Texts display in an easily navigable online interface. Access via Ovid Medline, then change resource to Books@Ovid.

 

Point of care/decision support resources - for a quick update on current evidence on a topic.

Point of care resources provide evidence based summaries across all specialties, including information on assessment, diagnosis and management. They are useful for incorporating current evidence into busy clinical practice.

These are subscription resources which are continually updated. See Point of care/decision support resources tab for more information.

Examples include: UpToDate (RMH & Peter Mac), DynaMed (RMH &RWH) and BMJ Best Practice (RMH, RWH & Peter Mac)

 

Research articles - for original research and commentary.

Original research is published in medical and nursing journals. Articles may also be reviews or commentary on topics.

Articles are a good source of advanced and specialist information on topics you are already familiar with. They are not so good for introductory information as some background knowledge is often assumed.

Articles can be found by either browsing journals in your specialty or by looking in library databases such as Medline, PubMed, Emcare, etc.

For more information on journals see the Nursing Journals tab.

For more information on databases see the Databases tab.

 

Databases - for collections of information on topics.

Databases are important sources of clinical information. They include:

  • medical literature databases such as PubMed or Medline
  • drug information databases (eg MIMS, Micromedex)
  • subject specific databases - CareSearch (palliative care), Social Care Online, Maternity & Infant Care Database (MIDIRS), etc.
  • trials registries and more.

Databases vary in their presentation and function. Some can be difficult to use effectively (especially the medical literature databases). Contact the library if you require assistance.

See the library databases page for a list of available databases.